Wednesday, March 05, 2014

EATCS Fellows class of 2014 named

The EATCS has recognized ten of its members for their outstanding contributions to theoretical computer science by naming them as the first recipients of an EATCS fellowship.

The EATCS Fellows for 2014 are:
  • Susanne Albers (Technische Universität München, Germany) for "her contributions to the design and analysis of algorithms, especially online algorithms, approximation algorithms, algorithmic game theory and algorithm engineering";
  • Giorgio Ausiello (Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy) for "the impact of his scientific work in the field of algorithms and computational complexity and for his service to the scientific community";
  • the late Wilfried Brauer (Technische Universität München, Germany) for "outstanding contributions to the foundation and organization of the European TCS community";
  • Herbert Edelsbrunner (Institute of Science and Technology Austria and Duke University, USA) for "his tremendous impact on the field of computational geometry";
  • Mike Fellows (Charles Darwin University, Australia) for "his role in founding the field of parameterized complexity theory, which has become a major subfield of research in theoretical computer science, and for being a leader in computer science education";
  • Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Research, USA) for "his development of abstract state machines and for outstanding contributions to algebra, logic, game theory, complexity theory and  software engineering";
  • Monika Henzinger (University of Vienna, Austria) for "being one of the pioneers of web algorithms, algorithms that deal with problems of the world wide web";
  • Jean-Eric Pin (LIAFA, CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France) for "outstanding contributions to the algebraic theory of automata and languages in connection with logic, topology, and combinatorics and service to the European TCS community";
  • Paul Spirakis (University of Liverpool, UK, and University of Patras, Greece) for "seminal papers on Random Graphs and Population Protocols, Algorithmic Game Theory, as well as Robust Parallel Distribute Computing";
  • Wolfgang Thomas (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) for "foundational  contributions to the development of automata theory as a framework for modelling, analyzing, verifying and synthesizing information processing systems."
The aforementioned members of the EATCS were selected by the EATCS Fellow Selection Committee, after examining the nominations received from our research community. The EATCS Fellow Selection Committee for 2014 consisted of
  • Rocco De Nicola (IMT Lucca, Italy,
  • Paul Goldberg (Oxford, UK),
  • Anca Muscholl (Bordeaux, France; chair),
  • Dorothea Wagner (Karlsruhe, Germany) and
  • Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich, CH)
The EATCS Fellows Program was established by the association last year  to recognize outstanding EACTS members for their scientific achievements in the field of Theoretical Computer Science. The EATCS is very proud to have the above-mentioned members of the organization as its first fellows. Congratulations all of them!

No comments: