Thursday, March 09, 2023

Ten fully-funded PhD positions in Computer Science at the Gran Sasso Science Institute

The Computer Science group at the GSSI has ten fully-funded PhD positions. See the call for applications for details. The deadline for applications is 30 May 2023.

The Computer Science group at the GSSI provides an excellent environment for PhD students and its group has been ranked as "excellent" by a recent national research assessment exercise. In my, admittedly biased, opinion, it is one of the places to be for research in Computer Science in Italy.

Spread the news!


Friday, March 03, 2023

Call for papers for the Fourteenth International Symposium on Games, Automata, Logics, and Formal Verification (GandALF 23)


The Fourteenth International Symposium on Games, Automata, Logics, and Formal Verification (GandALF 23) will be held in Udine (Italy) on September 18-20, 2023.

The aim of GandALF 2023 is to bring together researchers from academia and industry who are actively working in the fields of Games, Automata, Logics, and Formal Verification. The idea is to cover an ample spectrum of themes, ranging from theory to applications, and stimulate cross-fertilization. Papers focused on formal methods are especially welcome. Authors are invited to submit original research or tool papers on all relevant topics in these areas. Papers discussing new ideas that are at an early stage of development are also welcome. The topics covered by the conference include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Automata Theory
  • Automated Deduction
  • Computational aspects of Game Theory
  • Concurrency and Distributed computation
  • Decision Procedures
  • Deductive, Compositional, and Abstraction Techniques for Verification
  • Finite Model Theory
  • First-order and Higher-order Logics
  • Formal Languages
  • Formal Methods for Systems Biology, Hybrid, Embedded, and Mobile Systems
  • Game Semantics
  • Games and Automata for Verification
  • Logical aspects of Computational Complexity
  • Logics of Programs
  • Modal and Temporal Logics
  • Model Checking
  • Models of Reactive and Real-Time Systems
  • Probabilistic Models (Markov Decision processes)
  • Program Analysis and Software Verification
  • Reinforcement Learning
  • Run-time Verification and Testing
  • Specification and Verification of Finite and Infinite-state Systems
  • Synthesis

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: 23 June 2023
  • Paper submission deadline: 30 June 2023
  • Acceptance notification: 7 August 2023
  • Camera-ready deadline: 6 September 2023
  • Conference dates: 18-20 September 2023

⚠ all deadlines are AoE


The proceedings will be published by Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science. Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit a revised version of their work to a special issue of Logical Methods in Computer Science.

The previous editions of GandALF already led to special issues of the International Journal of Foundations of Computer Science (GandALF 2010), Theoretical Computer Science (GandALF 2011 and 2012), Information and Computation (GandALF 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020), Acta Informatica (GandALF 2015) and Logical Methods in Computer Science (GandALF 2021 and 2022).


Submitted papers should not exceed 14 pages (excluding references and clearly marked appendices) using EPTCS format (please use the LaTeX style provided here), be unpublished, and contain original research. For papers reporting experimental results, authors are encouraged to make their data available with their submission. Submissions must be in PDF format and will be handled via easychair at the following address: 

Invited Speakers

Program Committee

  • Dario Della Monica (co-chair) – University of Udine (Italy)
  • Antonis Achilleos (co-chair) – Reykjavik University (Iceland)
  • Parosh Aziz Abdulla – Uppsala University (Sweden)
  • Christel Baier –  Technische Universität Dresden (Germany)
  • Valentina Castiglioni – Reykjavik University (Iceland)
  • Giorgio Delzanno – University of Genova (Italy)
  • Léo Exibard – Université Gustave Eiffel (France)
  • Gabriele Fici – University of Palermo (Italy)
  • Dana Fisman – Ben-Gurion University (Israel)
  • Nicola Gigante – Free University of Bozen-Bolzano (Italy)
  • Miika Hannula – University of Helsinki (Finland)
  • Naoki Kobayashi – The University of Tokyo (Japan)
  • Orna Kupferman – Hebrew University (Israel)
  • Martin Leucker – University of Lübeck (Germany)
  • Fabio Mogavero – University of Napoli (Italy)
  • Shankara Narayanan Krishna – Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (India)
  • Pawel Parys – University of Warsaw (Poland)
  • Guillermo Pérez – University of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Giovanni Pighizzini – University of Milano (Italy)
  • Gabriele Puppis – University of Udine (Italy)
  • Joshua Sack – California State University Long Beach (USA)
  • Ocan Sankur – CNRS/Irisa (France)
  • Patrick Totzke – University of Liverpool (UK)
  • Jana Wagemaker –  Radboud University (Netherlands)
  • Martin Zimmermann – Aalborg University (Denmark)
  • (to be completed)

Steering Committee

  • Luca Aceto – Reykjavik University (Iceland)
  • Javier Esparza – University of Munich (Germany)
  • Salvatore La Torre – University of Salerno (Italy)
  • Angelo Montanari – University of Udine (Italy)
  • Mimmo Parente – University of Salerno (Italy)
  • Jean-François Raskin – Université libre de Bruxelles (Belgium)
  • Martin Zimmermann – Aalborg University (Denmark)