Friday, October 29, 2010

Call for nominations for EATCS awards

The calls for nominations for the EATCS Award, the Presburger Award and the Gödel Prize for 2011 are now out. See here for details. The deadlines are approaching fast, so get your nominations ready now!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Postdoctoral position at Reykjavik University

Processes and Modal Logics

School of Computer Science, Reykjavik University

One postdoctoral position

Applications are invited for one postdoctoral position at the School of Computer Science, Reykjavik University.  The position is part of a research project funded by the Icelandic Fund for Research, under the direction of Anna Ingolfsdottir and Luca Aceto. The general aim of the project is to contribute further advances to the study of the connections between the theory of reactive systems, modal logics and logics of knowledge, amongst others. See the web page of the project at

for more details on the project.

The successful candidates will benefit from, and contribute to, the research environment at the Icelandic Centre of Excellence in Theoretical Computer Science (ICE-TCS). For information about ICE-TCS and its activities, see

Qualification requirements

Applicants for the postdoctoral position should have a PhD degree in Computer Science, Mathematics or closely related fields. Previous knowledge of at least one of concurrency theory, modal/epistemic logics and their applications in computer science, and process calculi is highly desirable.


The wage is 330,000 ISK (roughly 2,120 euros at the present exchange rate) per month before taxes. The position is for one year, starting in January 2011 or as soon as possible thereafter, and is renewable for another year, based on good performance and mutual satisfaction.

Application details

Interested applicants should send their CV, including a list of publications, in PDF to the addresses below, together with a statement outlining their suitability for the project and the names of two referees.

Anna Ingolfsdottir

Luca Aceto

We will start reviewing applications as soon as they arrive, and will continue to accept applications until the position is filled.

Wednesday, October 06, 2010

LICS 2011 Test-of-Time Award Nominations

The LICS Test-of-Time Award recognizes a small number of papers from the LICS proceedings from 20 years prior that have best met the "test of time". The LICS 2011 Test-of-Time Award committee is, as usual, stellar and consists of Tom Henzinger, Radha Jagadeesan, Catuscia Palamidessi, and Andy Pitts (Chair). All papers published in the LICS 1991 Proceedings are eligible, see here for the complete list. Any member of the LICS community is welcome to send recommendations to Andy Pitts at

I already sent in my nomination yesterday, and I encourage my readers to recommend their favourite paper from LICS 1991. This is my fourth nomination this year, and so far I am zero out of three. Let's see whether the author of the paper I recommended will be any luckier.