Friday, March 07, 2014

David Woodruff receives the Presburger Award 2014

The EATCS is proud to announce that the Presburger Award 2014 Committee has chosen David Woodruff (IBM Almaden Research Center) as the recipient of the Presburger Award 2014. Congratulations to David!

Since 2010, the Presburger Award has been given each year to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers. The award is named after Mojzesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929. The Presburger Award 2014 is sponsored by CWI Amsterdam and will be presented at ICALP 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

David Woodruff, born in 1980, has made important contributions to the theory of data streams, both creating new algorithms, and demonstrating that certain algorithms cannot exist. His work has an impact on other fields, including compressed sensing, machine learning, and numerical linear algebra. In the area of data streams, he resolved the Distinct Elements Problem, simultaneously optimizing the amount of memory used, the time needed to process each new entity, and the time needed to report an estimate of the number of distinct elements in the stream. In the area of machine learning, he used his previous results on data streams to design sub-linear algorithms for linear classification and minimum enclosing ball problems. In numerical linear algebra, he developed the first algorithms for low rank approximation and regression that run in time proportional to the number of non-zero entries of the input matrix. His work also resulted in 17 patents related to data streams and their applications.

The 2014 Presburger Award Committee consisted of
Antonin Kucera Brno, chair
Claire Mathieu ENS Paris
Peter Widmayer Zurich

No comments: