Wednesday, October 24, 2018

One PhD position at the School of Computer Science, Reykjavik University

The following call for a PhD position at Reykjavik University might be of interest to some of your students. Feel free to distribute it as you see fit.

Open Problems in the Equational Logic of Processes

School of Computer Science, Reykjavik University
One PhD Position

Applications are invited for one PhD position at the School of Computer Science, Reykjavik University.  The position is part of a research project funded by the Reykjavik University Research Fund, under the direction of Luca Aceto (Reykjavik University) and Anna Ingolfsdottir (Reykjavik University) in cooperation with Bas Luttik (TU Eindhoven) and Alexandra Silva (University College London). The overarching goal of this project is to solve some of the challenging open problems in the equational axiomatization of behavioural equivalences over process calculi. Interested applicants can contact Luca Aceto (email: for further details on the research proposal.

The successful candidate will benefit from, and contribute to, the research environment at the Icelandic Centre of Excellence in Theoretical Computer Science (ICE-TCS). For information about ICE-TCS and its activities, see

Moreover, she/he will cooperate with Bas Luttik and Alexandra Silva  during the project work and will benefit from the interaction with their research groups at TU Eindhoven and University College London. The PhD student will also have a chance to interact with Clemens Grabmayer and the CS group at the Gran Sasso Science Institute (, L'Aquila, Italy.

Qualification requirements

Applicants for the PhD fellowship should have, or be about to obtain, an MSc degree in Computer Science, or closely related fields. Some background in concurrency theory and mathematical competence are desirable.

The PhD position provides a stipend of 420,000 ISK (roughly 3,110 € at the current exchange rate) per month before taxes, for three years, starting as early as possible.  In addition, the student will have 300,000 ISK per year available for research-related travel.

Application details

Interested applicants should send their CV, including a list of publications, in PDF to all the addresses below, together with a statement outlining their suitability for the project and the names of at least two referees.

Luca Aceto

Anna Ingolfsdottir

Bas Luttik

Alexandra Silva

We will start reviewing applications as soon as they arrive and will continue to accept applications until the position is filled. We strongly encourage interested applicants to send their applications as soon as possible and no later than 23 November 2018.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Call for nominations for the Presburger Award 2019

Anca Muscholl asked me to advertise the call for nominations for the Presburger Award. I hope that members of the TCS community will nominate many of the young scientists (see the text below for the definition of "young") doing exciting work in TCS.  I wish Anca, Jukka and Thore good luck with their work, as I am sure they will be faced with some difficult choices.

Starting in 2010, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science
(EATCS) established the Presburger Award. The Award is conferred annually at
the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers.

The Award is named after Moj┼╝esz Presburger who accomplished his path-
breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called
Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or
group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2019 the date of birth should be in 1983 or later). The Presburger Award Committee of 2019 consists of Thore Husfield (Lund University and IT University of Copenhagen), Anca Muscholl (LaBRI) and Jukka Suomela (Aalto, chair). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent by e-mail to:

The subject line of every nomination should start with Presburger Award 2019,
and the message must be received before December 31st, 2018.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP 2019
for a lecture.