Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Call for Nominations: Presburger Award for Young Scientists 2016

Presburger Award for Young Scientists 2016

   Call for Nominations

   Deadline: December 31st, 2015

Starting in 2010, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) established the Presburger Award. The Award is conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers. The Award is named after Mojzesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or
group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2016 the date of birth should be in 1980 or later). The Presburger Award Committee of 2016 consists of Zoltan Esik (Szeged), Marta Kwiatkowska (Oxford) and Claire Mathieu (Paris, chair).

Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent by e-mail to:
   Claire Mathieu

The subject line of every nomination should start with Presburger Award 2016,and the message must be received before December 31st, 2015.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP 2016 for a lecture.

Previous Winners:

   Mikołaj Bojanczyk, 2010
   Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, 2011
   Venkatesan Guruswami and Mihai Patrascu, 2012
   Erik Demaine, 2013
   David Woodruff, 2014
   Xi Chen, 2015

Official website:

No comments: