Wednesday, July 09, 2008

Dijkstra Prize 2008 to Baruch Awerbuch and David Peleg

During the meeting of the EATCS Council at ICALP 2008, I learned that the Dijkstra Award Committee has selected Baruch Awerbuch and David Peleg as the recipients of this year Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing. The price is given to them for their outstanding paper: "Sparse Partitions" published in FOCS 1990.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

No comments: