Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Call for Prize Nominations: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2020

Michele Flammini asked me to distrbute this call for nominations. Sharpen your pencils and nominate one of the many worthy candidates from the SIROCCO community!

Call for Prize Nominations:
Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2020

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication Complexity (SIROCCO).

Deadline for nominations: April 30, 2019.

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO's area of interest. That is, they formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that were at the time of their introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but later attracted the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality, innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect the spirit of the SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2020 is expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2020. The winner of the 2019 edition of the prize (Paola Flocchini) will give a talk at SIROCCO 2019 which is going to be held on July 1-4, in L’Aquila, Italy.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg, Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, Masafumi Yamashita, Shmuel Zaks,  Zvi Lotker and Paola Flocchini.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s) for the first time in a publication at least five years before the nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original
paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative contribution, must have
appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2020 consists of: Shantanu Das (Aix-Marseille Université),
Zvi Lotker (Ben Gurion University of the Negev), Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University), Andrzej Pelc - chair (Université du Québec en Outaouais), Michel Raynal (IRISA), Jukka Suomela (Aalto University) and Sébastien Tixeuil (Sorbonne Université).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

DEADLINE : The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2019.
Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Andrzej Pelc, by e-mail

No comments: