Tuesday, October 20, 2015

CFP: 15th Scandinavian Symposium and Workshops on Algorithm Theory

This event is taking place at Reykjavik University in June 2016. Consider submitting!


SWAT 2016 - Call for Papers

15th Scandinavian Symposium and Workshops on Algorithm Theory
June 22-24, 2016, Reykjavik, Iceland

Submission deadline: Feb 14, 2016


The symposium, which alternates with the Algorithms and Data Structures
Symposium (WADS), is a forum for researchers in the area of design and
analysis of algorithms and data structures. We invite submissions of
papers presenting original research on algorithms and data structures.
Though we welcome experiments, the theoretical results in the articles
will be the main measure for evaluating their merits. Algorithmic
approaches of interest include, but are not limited to: approximation
algorithms, parametrized algorithms, distributed algorithms, parallel
algorithms, external-memory algorithms, data structures, exponential
time algorithms, online algorithms, randomized algorithms, streaming
algorithms, sub-linear algorithms. The algorithmic problems considered
may be motivated by applications, e.g. in optimization, geometry and
topology, graph analysis, bioinformatics, visualization, string
processing, information retrieval, machine learning, algorithmic game
theory, or mechanism design.


Contributors must submit their papers using the Easychair system.
Submissions should be in LIPIcs format (without font size, margin, or
line spacing changes), and not exceed 12 pages including front page and
references. See
for instructions. Additionally, if full details of proofs do not fit
into the page limit, a clearly marked appendix containing the remaining
details must be included; this appendix will not be regarded as part of
the submission and will be considered only at the discretion of the
program committee. Submissions deviating substantially from this format
risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Papers submitted for review should represent original, previously
unpublished work. At the time the paper is submitted to the symposium,
and for the entire review period, the paper (or essentially the same
paper) must not be under review by any other conference with published
proceedings or by a scientific journal. However, we encourage authors to
make a preprint of their paper available at a public repository such as
arXiv. At least one author of every accepted paper is expected to register
and present the paper at the symposium. Symposium proceedings will be
published in the "Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics"
(LIPIcs) series.


Submission deadline: Feb 14, 2016
Author notification: Early April, 2016
Symposium: Feb 17-20, 2016


A prize will be awarded to the author(s) of the best student-authored
paper. A paper is eligible if all of its authors are full-time students
at the time of submission. This must be indicated in the submission


 - Christian Sohler, Technische Universität Dortmund
 - Christian Wulff-Nilsen, University of Copenhagen
 - Dimitris Fotakis, National Technical University of Athens
 - Djamal Belazzougui, University of Helsinki
 - Ely Porat, Bar-Ilan University
 - Fabio Vandin, University of Padova
 - Faith Ellen, University of Toronto
 - Francois Le Gall, University of Tokyo
 - Gerhard Woeginger, Eindhoven University of Technology
 - Gonzalo Navarro, University of Chile
 - Kasper Green Larsen, Aarhus University
 - Marek Karpinski, University of Bonn
 - Marina Papatriantafilou, Chalmers University of Technology and Göteborg University
 - Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii, Manoa
 - Ola Svensson, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
 - Petteri Kaski, Aalto University
 - Pinar Heggernes, University of Bergen
 - Rasmus Pagh (chair), IT University of Copenhagen
 - Rob van Stee, University of Leicester
 - Seth Pettie, University of Michigan
 - Stefan Langerman, Université libre de Bruxelles
 - Suresh Venkatasubramanian, University of Utah
 - Therese Biedl, University of Waterloo


 - Christian Konrad, Reykjavík University
 - Magnús M. Halldórsson, Reykjavík University (chair)
 - Páll Melsted, University of Iceland
 - Tigran Tonoyan, Reykjavík University


 - Andrzej Lingas, Lund University
 - Esko Ukkonen, University of Helsinki
 - Jan Arne Telle, University of Bergen
 - Lars Arge, Aarhus University
 - Magnús M. Halldórsson, Reykjavík University


 -http://www.ru.is/~mmh/swat16/  (general information)


CAO Yixin said...

The webpage you give states:

Contributors must submit their papers using the Easychair system Submissions should not exceed 12 pages in Springer LNCS format including references.

Symposium proceedings will be published in the “Lecture Notes in Computer Science” (LNCS) series of Springer.

Luca Aceto said...

Thanks for spotting this inconsistency! I am not involved in the organization of this event, but I have informed Magnús and his team. The web page will be updated soon. The organizers told me that the correct information is the one in the CFP I posted and that is being distributed on several mailing lists.