Friday, June 07, 2013

Gödel Prize 2013

As some of you might know already, the Gödel Prize 2013, which is awarded jointly by ACM SIGACT and the EATCS, goes to the authors of the following two papers:

Antoine Joux: A One Round Protocol for Tripartite Diffie-Hellman, J. Cryptology 17(4): 263-276 (2004). (Conference version: ANTS 2000)

Dan Boneh, Matthew K. Franklin: Identity-Based Encryption from the Weil Pairing, SIAM J. Comput. 32(3): 586-615 (2003) . (Conference version: CRYPTO 2001)

for their contributions to cryptographic concepts and schemes that provide greater efficiency, flexibility, and security.  These papers established the field of pairing-based cryptography by supplying a precise definition of the security of this approach, and providing compelling new applications for it.
The press release issued by the ACM is available at

Congrats to the award recipients.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Big congratulations to the winners!