Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Wolf Foundation Prizes for 2008

The Wolf Foundation has released the list of awardees of the Wolf Prizes 2008. Pierre Deligne and Phillip Griffiths, both of the Institute for Advanced Study, and David Mumford of Brown University, will share the 2008 Wolf Foundation Prize in Mathematics. (I note that the third of these mathematicians seem to be doing research with a high computational content these days!)

Claudio Abbado is one of the two recipients of an award in the arts. I did a quick-and-dirty Google search and it seems that none of the main Italian newspapers has devoted an article to this prize. Sadly, I am not surprised.

No comments: